About Us

The MBEA Award

About the MBEA

The Minnesota Business Ethics Award recognizes Minnesota businesses that have exemplified and promoted ethical conduct for the benefit of the workplace, the marketplace, the environment and the community. It was founded in 1999 by the Center for Ethical Business Cultures and the Society of FSP – Twin Cities Chapter. The Rotary Club of Edina joined as an award sponsor from 2004-2009. The Minnesota Society of Certified Public Accountants joined as an award sponsor from 20010-2012. The National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors – Minnesota joined as an award sponsor in 2013-2015 and Financial Executives International – Twin Cities Chapter joined as a rotating sponsor for 2016 and again for 2017.

Here’s how the MBEA process works:

1. Each year a call for nominations is issued. A business must be nominated by a customer, client, employee, vendor or a private citizen who is impressed with a company’s demonstration of ethical business conduct. Business people and organizations from throughout the state are encouraged to participate in the nomination process by completing a Nomination Form. Nominations for 2017 close January 20, 2017 at midnight.

2. Nominated companies are required to complete an official Entry Form and provide documentation of “ethics-in-action” at their company. The MBEA is presented in three categories: large companies with over 500 employees, medium size companies of 100-500 employees and small companies of under 100 employees. Entries are submitted electronically, beginning in January of each year and for 2017, must be uploaded by midnight on March 15, 2017.  Submission requirements are available at the “Judging Information” link found at the main menu at the top of this page.

3. The entries are judged by a preliminary and a Blue Ribbon independent panel of judges representing business and academia.

4. Award finalists are notified after the judging is complete.

5. The award recipients are kept confidential and are announced at the annual awards luncheon. The 2017 Awards Luncheon will be held on May 10, 2017 at The Nicollet Island Pavilion. Registration for the luncheon is now available online – click here to register for the luncheon.

6. Qualifying entries submitted for the *Minnesota Business Ethics Award (MBEA) are automatically forwarded to the American Business Ethics Award (ABEA.) Non-profits and financial services organizations are excluded from consideration for the ABEA. *The ABEA was suspended for the 2017 award year. Details for future ABEA will be posted when available. Learn more about the ABEA

About the Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is a dedicated group of volunteers from Sponsors, Past Recipients, and Endorsing Organizations that share a passion for raising the bar of business ethics.  They meet regularly throughout the year organizing and implementing MBEA. If you share similar interests and a heart for service we want you to become engaged with some of the finest people and companies in Minnesota.  We encourage you to call us at 651.815.0668 to become a part of the Steering Committee.

2017 Steering Committee Members

  • Nathan Agre | CPA, BPK& Z CPA & Consultants – (MNCPA)
  • Sandy Beeson | AdminSolutions – Administrative Support
  • George Boyadjis | Corporate Services Director, Cresa – (FEI)
  • Rick Dworsky | Financial Advisor, Legacy Private Wealth Group – (NAIFA)
  • Glaydon Iverson | Partner, The Platinum Group – (Past Recipient)
  • Theresa Quinn-Accurso | – (FEI)
  • Jeff Ramsey | Wealth Management Director, RSM US Wealth Management LLC – (FSP)
  • Angela Riley | Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, St. Catherine University – (FEI)
  • David Rodbourne | Vice President, Center for Ethical Business Cultures – (CEBC2017 Co-chair
  • Dyanne Ross-Hanson | President, Exit Planning Strategies, LLC – (FSP)
  • Ed Stober | Associate Advisor, RSM US Wealth Management LLC – (FSP)
  • Brian Volkman | Vice President, Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union – (Past Recipient) 2017 Co-chair


  • The Center for Ethical Business Cultures
  • Society of Financial Service Professionals